BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

Why I am catholic – I see the signs

And the sign said, “Everybody welcome.
Come in. Kneel down and pray.”
And when they passed around the plate at the end of it all,
I didn’t have a penny to pay
So I got me a pen and a paper
And I made up my own little sign.
I said, “Thank you, Lord, for thinkin’ ’bout me.
I’m alive and doin’ fine.”

Whoo! Sign, sign.
Everywhere a sign.
Blockin’ out the scenery.
Breakin’ my mind.
Do this. Don’t do that.
Can’t you read the sign?     The Five Man Electrical Band

Everytime you hear this song, admit it, you start singing out loud!  I can’t help but jump back to to the early 70’s, long hair, bell-bottom pants, platform shoes.  This song has truly lasted the test of time and will probably endure onto the next generation.  

How do signs of the time continue on to a new time, a new period, the next generation?  Maybe if we look back at some other signs that have endured the test of time.    The Church teaches us about the sacraments and that they are outward signs of God’s grace that is given to us.   (Just a quick hint about the grace of God, God’s grace is like the low-hanging fruit, all you have to do is reach out and grab it.)  I did not understand these sacraments at first.   I was not taught about the sacraments or in fact about any sacraments.  I was taught that God is a loving, forgiving God.   But the sacraments are signs from God that help give us reassurance that God is with us.   Each of the sacraments also represents our life journey and our walk with God.   With each outward sign that we profess, show or do, we reach out and grab the endless supply of grace from God. 

Why did Jesus want to be baptized by John?  Maybe to give us a sign and to show us that He indeed is the Son of God.   Why did he break the bread with His disciples at the last supper and say “this is my body” ?  Maybe it was to give us a sign that when we break the bread and drink the cup, that the bread becomes His body and the cup becomes His blood and we are one with Him.   Why did Jesus breath on the apostles and the Holy Spirit was aflamed upon them?  Maybe this was a sign that He breathed the Holy Spirit upon them to do great things.   Why did Apostles preach that those who are sick and dying should be prayed for and annointed with oil?  Maybe to give a sign to them that God is forever with them and to never give up hope for through God all things are possible.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

