BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

Why I am catholic….the saints

“Oh when the saints go marching in, Oh when the saints go marching in….Lord, I want to be with in that number.. when the saints go marching in!!”  

Would you believe me if I told you I can play this tune on the harmonica?  Didn’t think so, but it is true.

One of the questions we usually get is why do you pray to saints?   Well my answer is this, and this is my opinion based on what I believe is true.   We first have to establish or come to an agreement that when Jesus returns to this earth (someday unknown day to us 😉 ) that He will judge the living and the dead.  Now with that being said, what is dead?  We can surely understand that our bodies wear out, catch various diseases, accidents etc. and our physical life is over.  But as we believe our soul lives on and if our soul lives on does it die or as some I have heard mention, it goes to sleep.   So my question is where does our soul go?  In other words where do we go?   I do believe that we are judge on our works here on earth in the time that we are given.   Jesus could come back and grade us on a curve or not.   He could take all of us or just a few.   We may suffer terribly and watch many others suffer or it may all happen in a flash.  So where am I going with this?   Well our souls are hanging around somewhere, alive and well waiting for Jesus return.  Why can’t I ask these souls to pray for me or to pray with me?  Why can’t I ask them to get with their friends and ask them to pray for me?  We ask each other to pray for us while we are physically here on earth.

Back to the saints and what they help us with.  A funny thing happened on the way to mass this past week, as our pastor had the same thoughts on the saints.  The saints are our family members, they give us the example to follow.  The have made the mistakes, admitted them, corrected them and lived a fuller, richer, holier life than they were leading to begin with.  The saints show us that even when one makes a wrong turn in life, the wrong choice there, misjudgements here, that we too can make the u-turn with the correct focus on God.  The saints lead us directly back to Jesus.   The deflect the focus on them and direct it towards Jesus.

And where/who can we go to get this help to make that u-turn?  Well we can ask the saints, alive and dead, to pray for us.  We can go to reconcilation and we  take it to the Lord in prayer.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

