BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

Forgive and Forget

ISAIAH 55:10–11 PSALM 34 MATTHEW 6:7–15

Our Father who art in Heaven, hallowed be thy name…..

When I went to my first mass with my future wife, I swear they said “Art Father” so I rushed back and tried
to figure out where this “Art Father” came from and I did not want to seem like an idiot to her(I’ve done plenty of idiot things since then however!)
But we say this prayer at every mass, every celebration and I will say it when I can’t think of anything else because it’s an all encompassing prayer.
It is a very powerful prayer because it is what Jesus taught us. So that in itself is the best reason to always pray it. Secondly we need to make sure we are “all in” to be able to reap all of the prayers rewards. Seriously who can really forgive and forget? We are human we will hold a grudge one way or the other. We can strive to forgive those who trespass against us but it ain’t easy. And are we really ready for His Kingdom here on earth as it is in Heaven? When we know guests are coming over to our home who does not scramble a little bit to “prepare our home” for those guests? So we strive in to keep our “homes” at least tiddy and neat so that we don’t have to “scramble so much. So to we must do in our spiritual lives and keep things tidy and neat through forgive and forget – so off I go to confession this weekend I think! (add your thoughts to this here)

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Forgive and Forget

  1. Many people say this prayer without really thinking about it. If you really think about it, it’s a very difficult prayer to honestly pray.

    For example, “Forgive us our sins, as we forgive those who sin against us.”

    I hope God forgives my sin of not forgiving other as much as I should.

    Like

Leave a Reply

