BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

Lent ……. Day Eight

Lent ……. Day Eight

“…I have always wanted to be a saint…Instead of becoming discouraged, I said to myself, God cannot inspire unrealistic desires.  I can, then, in spite of my littleness, aspire to holiness.” (Story of a Soul, 207)
St. Therese of Lisieux

I can not say that I have not had those same dreams as St Therese did, especially at her age.  At 15 I was completely, totally into me.   At 15 I had long hair and pimples.   I would blow dry it every morning thinking I was “Joe Cool”.   At 15 I was riding my  motorcycle ( I had a Yamaha 125) and also thinking I was an expert mechanic of some sorts.   My dreams were someday crusin’ the highways with the wind in my hair and bugs in my teeth.  A few short years would pass and a girl would change my dreams forever.

Saints inspire us to be more holy and with continous prayer we can each take a short step in that direction.  It really is that simple because within our prayers are our dreams and our goals.  Our prayers of healing our family of ailments, providing peace among family and co-workers, asking for help with our words so that we don’t say the wrong things.   We can achieve these with God’s help.

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace,
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is doubt, faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
Where there is sadness, joy.
O Divine Master,
grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled, as to console;
to be understood, as to understand;
to be loved, as to love.
For it is in giving that we receive.
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.
Amen.
(prayer of Saint Francis)
Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

