BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

Lent …… Day Eleven

Lent ……. Day Eleven

Mt 5:43-48

Jesus said to his disciples:
“You have heard that it was said,
You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.
But I say to you, love your enemies,
and pray for those who persecute you,
that you may be children of your heavenly Father,
for he makes his sun rise on the bad and the good,
and causes rain to fall on the just and the unjust.

“One feels attracted to this Sister, whereas with regard to another, one would…avoid meeting her…Jesus is telling me that it is this Sister who must be loved, she must be prayed for even though her conduct would lead me to believe that she doesn’t love me.” (Story of a Soul, 225)
St. Therese of Lisieux

We are suppose to love our enemies and pray for those who persecute us.   Ouch.   What if I resist?   What if I don’t want to?   After all do I not possess “free will” from the Lord?  I have a choice to make.   As much as I do not love my enemy, neighbor, commuters, congress, Presidents or others, I should at least pray for them.  Pray that I may understand them.  Pray that they may understand me.  Pray for all.   It always seems like when we are in a bind that we are called on to pray.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

