BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

Lent ……. Day Fourteen

Lent ……. Day Fourteen

“ …I can offer God only very little things. It often happens that I allow these little sacrifices which give such peace to the soul to slip by; this does not discourage me, for I put up with having a little less peace and try to be more vigilant on another occasion.”  (Story of a Soul, 250)
St. Therese of Lisieux 

It’s been snowing here in Colorado, a lot of snow.   I was out shuffling the driveway, slipped, twisting my knee and landed right on my butt.  I guess I could have just laid there in my own misery, only to be covered eventually by the falling snow which would have made me look like any snow drift in the neighborhood.  I got up, brushed myself off,  finished the job of shuffling the driveway.   I did say a little prayer of “Thanks be to God”  for not breaking any bones.   

During this Lenten season you may have already fallen down.   You may have slipped up somewhere.  You pick yourself up, brush it off and keep on trucking my friend.   Let’s look at Peter, what did he do?  Jesus tells Peter that he will deny Him three times before the rooster crows.  (Matthew 26: 69-75).   Peter shows us another time when he lacked in faith as they were out in the boat and the wind was blowing and all the disciples were afraid.  Jesus calls out to them not to be afraid.   Peter begins to walk on water upon Jesus’ command.   Then he realizes where he is at and falls down. 

We should be thankful to Peter and the apostles for not staying down.  Thankful that they got up and were faithful to Jesus.   We need to do the same.   

I carry with me two items all the time;  one is a rosary and the second is the medal of Saint Peregrine, patron saint of cancer patients.  The Saint Peregrine medal has a simple prayer on it;

“Help me,  Guide me, in this fight.  Give me courage, strength and might.”    Amen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment