BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

Lent ……. Day Twenty-One

Lent ……. Day Twenty-One

“As a father has tenderness for his children, so the Lord has compassion on us.” (St. Therese’s letter to Pere Roulland, 226, 1093)
St. Therese of Lisieux

Please raise your hand if you ever felt the belt of you father or mother?  Maybe it was slap across the cheek or your bottom.  In my case I have had all three.   One time it was my oldest brother (God bless his soul) and I who got in trouble.  Well Dad took the belt to us both at the same time, my brother, David, took the inside track and I had the outside.  I will never forget the little smirk he gave me as Dad whipped the belt and I had the tail end of it!

That really does not tell the tenderness of our father but it does because of the the numerous other times he did not do that  . He did was teach us what we could have done, how we could of made a better choice.  And that he his always there to lend an ear or sage advice and at times a few bucks.  I believe every parent has this tenderness for their children and for all children in general.

God’s mercy, love and tenderness continues to draw us in.    He continues to teach us.

Our Father, who art in heaven…..

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

