BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

Good Friday

Good Friday

from the gospel according to John 18: 4-6 “Whom are you looking for?” They answered him, “Jesus the Nazorean.”  He said to them “I AM.”  Judas his betrayer was also with them.  When he said to them, “I AM,” they turned away and fell to the ground.

Sometimes we go through the motions.  We’ve been there done that we know what were doing, so we go through the motions.   How many times have we read this passage?   How well do we know the story of Judas’ betrayal?   Well I thought I did too.   Then it hit me, like running into a road reflector on an early morning jog (true story!).    Did you read what just happened?  “they turned away and fell to the ground.”  

Would we recognize God in the flesh if we saw Him?  I think, we would naturally – instinctively know.  Those who came to arrest Jesus did – they recognized God – they knew – and may I say they were not all disciples of His – but they knew who He was by “I AM”     

My prayer is that God grants me His mercy and grace to recognize Him when He comes.  I think we all we know though.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

