BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

Why I am catholic ……. Mother Mary

Funny thing happened to me on my way to converting to catholicism…….I fell in love with another woman!!

Mary, the mother of Jesus,  Jesus the Son of God, Mary the mother of God.   When did Jesus become God or when did God become Jesus?  It’s like the question of which came first the chicken or the egg?    When Gabriel appeared to Mary, he said “Do not be afraid!”   Now if an angel appeared to you would you not be afraid?  I am sure that I would or I would ask myself did I have 3 beers or 30?  I forgot.

So why is the Church so in love with Mary?   Well my question to you is why not?  Who else gave birth to our savior?  No one!!   Only one!  Mary!!!Okay, Okay….calm down  ( I am talking to myself right now!)  How did this happen and why is the catholic church so reverent towards Mary?   Well let me ask a simple question,  if the angel Gabriel appeared to you, would you say “Behold I am the handmaid of the Lord, May it be done to me according to your word”  (Luke 1:38)……………..me neither.

So why do we adore or reverence Mary so much?  Well who constantly reminds us of Jesus?   His mother, Mary.     Even the time when they (Mary and Joseph) lost Jesus.  Remember they went to the temple to worship and when they returned home Mary turned to Joseph and said “Where is Jesus?” (paraphrased)  and us fathers can understand Joseph’s confusion of – who?   And when they found Him  (three days later),  Mary asks “Son, why have you done this to us?”

Mary, acknowledges that Jesus is her Son, the only one.  She knew this from the get-go.   Once she acknowledged Gabriel and said “Yes”, she knew she would have a Son and His name would be Jesus!   She had to let Jesus be Jesus.   Her will to let God come into her life and actually be a part of her is the most selfless act a person could ever do.   Her love of God and desire to be close to Him manifested inside her from the beginning as well.  Mary had the hunger for God from her beginning as well, praying, learning and seeking God.

And to cut to the chase, it was Mary ‘s last words who said to the servants at the wedding in Cana “Do whatever He tells you” (John 2:5)

And, usually your mother is right, right?   Honor His mother and “Do whatever He tells you!”

We pray for Mary’s  intercession and ask her to pray with us and for us;

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

