BanksShot

Thoughts off the Glass

2015 Lent Day 16

Today’s Readings

I do not do yoga.   My daughter and some others I know do like to do yoga.  My niece is an advanced instructor of yoga.   My version of yoga is called “be still big dog” as I lie flat on my back with my head slightly tilted back, my eyes closed for quite meditation and I dream of being real flexible.   I really have no idea of all the poses in yoga or the meaning of the different poses.  But from the outside it seems like a very relaxing, yet strenuous activity.  With the core of your body and mind being centered or focused on what you are doing.  And like anything that once you start to get good or comfortable with it, it is very relaxing.

Recently a post on Facebook mentioned that a catholic priest thinks that practicing yoga leads you to the devil.  Well this banner is being held up by other Christian denominations as well!  Luckily the catholic church allows it members some leeway in this area, as well as believing in all the apparitions of Mary (Lady of Guadalupe, Lady of Lourdes, Fatima).  I do not believe that practicing yoga will lead you to the devil BUT  is determined by where your roots are.

Thus says the LORD:
Cursed is the man who trusts in human beings,
who seeks his strength in flesh,
whose heart turns away from the LORD.
He is like a barren bush in the desert
that enjoys no change of season,
But stands in a lava waste,
a salt and empty earth.
Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD,             
whose hope is the LORD.
He is like a tree planted beside the waters
that stretches out its roots to the stream:
It fears not the heat when it comes,
its leaves stay green;
In the year of drought it shows no distress,
but still bears fruit.
More tortuous than all else is the human heart,
beyond remedy; who can understand it?
I, the LORD, alone probe the mind
and test the heart,
To reward everyone according to his ways,
according to the merit of his deeds.

 

So if doing yoga, cycling, running, lifting etc.  helps you water your roots and brings you closer to God then I say  “be still big dog” !

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

